A Cheap Beauty Habit to Adapt in 2014: Take a Bath

Standard

Bubble Bath

*Note I’m not the chick in the photo.  You can learn more about me here. I’m a short blonde chick.

A wonderful friend of mine suggested I take a bath to relax.

I said, “Okay, but I’m too tired to bother,” feeling like I could fall into a narcoleptic Sleeping Beauty-esque sleep.

It was the best suggestion, and now it’s difficult to pull me out, but not just because it’s relaxing, but because it makes me pretty.

GIve yourself spa treatment with my bath time suggestions, and hop out of that tub looking gorgeous darling!

Some Like It Hot

You don’t want to scald your skin, but keep the water temperature fairly warm, and the door to the bathroom shut. You wouldn’t want anyone to disturb you, would you? Well that’s another story entirely.

The heat in the bathroom and water will cause you to sweat out the bad stuff–toxins, jerky men, and bad bosses– and give your skin a nice dewy glow from the moisture. Skin needs hydration my dearies.

Feet and Hands

You don’t need fancy bubble bath, any will do, and the extra time in the tub will soften your calluses and cuticles. Why not apply vitamin E oil or if you’re fancy, a cuticle gel to get those dry nasty cuticles soft enough to be removed?

For the feet: a nice scrub before you leave the tub and callus-stone off the bedrock on the soles of those feet will really do rather nicely. If you’ve soaked long enough in your tub, before you hop out, scrub away and rinse.

Try Flake Away by Soap & Glory. It’s not specifically for feet, but I love it.  I also use Toe the Line by Bath and Body Works.

Moisturize those hands and feet after the bath. That goes for your body too.

That Dewy Look

While it’s totally not necessary to apply a mask while you’re in the tub–I’m telling you the heat and humidity will give you that just “screwed” look– adding a mask can’t hurt.

One of my new favorites, which is a great mask for sensitive and dehydrated skin is the Blue/Blackberry Enzyme Mask by Ole Henriksen. Whenever I wash the mask off after leaving on for the recommended 20 minutes, I feel that my skin is soft and glowing.

No Need For Botox

When I exit the bath, my “furrow” lines have disappeared, mostly because who could be pissed off, stressed, or angry during a bath? Unless you’re a bonafide psychopath, chances are you will exit your tub looking relaxed and happy, and that will just make you look younger.

Add Wine

Eat some chocolate. Drink some wine. Pour yourself some tea. Indulge in a special treat just for you. There is no one more beautiful than a smiling satiated face and body, and that is about the sexiest thing one can find in another human being. Happiness.

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a comment